This site is a joint effort of the Maynard Historical Society and the Maynard Historical Commission.

The Maynard Historical Society is dedicated to the preservation of the memories and memorabilia of Maynard, Massachusetts for our current and future generations.

We typically hold meetings on the 4th Monday of each month at Maynard Town Hall (195 Main Street) and feature a speaker on a town-related topic.

Membership in the Historical Society helps us continue to provide programs and manage the collection of artifacts that have been donated to the Society.  Members also receive the Maynard Memories newsletter. Individual memberships are just $15 per year — a bargain at twice the price.  (Click here to join!) We are a 501c(3) organization and donations to the Society are normally tax-exempt.

The Society has no staff.  All activities, projects, and publications are 100% volunteer effort.  Your contributions and membership help us offset expenses incurred in bringing Maynard’s History to the public.

The Maynard Historical Commission is a town government committee, appointed by the Maynard Board of Selectmen, and is charged with developing regulations and programs within the town to preserve and protect historical assets.

Maynard Historical Society Board of Trustees – 2014

  • Dave Griffin – President
  • Roy Helander – Secretary
  • Don Wasiuk – Treasurer
  • Paul Boothroyd
  • Len Palmer
  • Nancy Wasiuk (newsletter editor)
  • Susan Alatalo

News and stories from the Maynard Historical Society in Maynard, Massachusetts